" Vacation Memories "
2003-04-01 @ 7:01 p.m.

" My Spring Vacation Memories "

Here's a recap of the vacation trip I had over the last 10 days. I left California on friday, April 21... drove from my home here in Downey, CA to Filmore, Utah where I stayed overnight before continuing on my way to my sister's house in Blackfoot, Idaho.

I stayed overnight at sis's and then we drove to Ontario, Oregon where we stayed overnight. We were back on the road by 10a.m. the next morning after splitting a Denny's breakfast special.

We arrived at my Dad's in Medford, Oregon after taking a small detour around Crater Lake... there was snow on the ground and temps were in the low 40's.... mucho brrrrr. It was warmer at Dad's, even though it was raining lightly.

He was so glad to see us both and seemed to be in very good spirits even though his health continues to deteriorate. His colon cancer is in remission at the moment, but he's having some arthritic pain in his joints so he doesn't get outside much anymore, especially when it's that cold and wet. He'll be 85 this July, so he's doing remarkably well, all things considered. My thanks to those who asked after his health and please keep him in your prayers.

Last Wednesday morning we drove up to Portland, Oregon to visit with sis's son Jay and his new bride Keri. From the time we left Grant's Pass it started pouring... and I loved every minute of it! They took us out to dinner and then we just kicked back at their place that night and visited. It was so cold we had to use an electric blanket and I felt like covering even my head... being a So.Cal gal my blood just wasn't up to warming me. Jay had a computer so I could at least check my email, but really had no time to get a message to the group, sorry.

We drove back to Dad's in Medford and the sun was shining all day Friday. We went shopping, drove up to Jacksonville (an old western town) to visit with the lady that made my sister's Victorian wedding dress. It's a reproduction of a 1915 dress and sis looked so beautiful in it. The lady who owns the shop put one of sis's wedding photo's on display in the clothes galary. What do you know... I'm related to a star!

After driving back down to Medford we caught an early showing of the "chick" flic "How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days" and then returned to Dad's to clean-up, pack, and have our last visit. The time we had together passed all too fast, and we'd packed too much to do in too short a time... we sure hated to have to leave.

Saturday morning as we left sis drove from just at the OR/CA state line to Red Bluff, CA where we had our lunch. Then I drove us on down to Santa Nella, CA (Andersen's Split Pea Soup resturant is there) where we stayed the night. Of course we ate the "Travelers Special" bowl of split pea soup and rye bread rolls. We both got a good night sleep and continued our drive home after our continental breakfast. We stopped for lunch at Marie Callendar's in the grapevine (this is the last section in the foothils just before you head down the Tejon pass into Los Angeles). We shared a spinach salad that was out of this world! We both asked for the recipe, so I'll try to put it in Tips later on this week.

We arrived home in Downey, CA about 3pm Sunday afternoon. I sure hated to drive back into all the smog and sis was terrified by the freeway traffic but at least we were home again. Sis flew out of LAX Monday morning and I had the rest of the day to grocery shop and get myself back together before going into work again on Tuesday.

And there you have it... my vacation memories. I wish you could have been there to laugh and share the fun with us.



Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.
Subscribe to TheTipsE-Zine
Powered by groups.yahoo.com